Almost-Vegan Sugar Cookies

Ah, sugar cookies.

How timeless, how unadorned, how classic, how sensationally appealing.

Who would ever have guessed that the convergence of so few, basic ingredients could form so pleasing a confection?

Sugar cookies have always been my best-loved comfort food. Well, along with baumkuchen and miso soup. But that’s for another post, if I ever master baumkuchen 😉

Have you ever partaken of the ones from Subway? Those chewy, sweet, buttery Subway sugar cookies? I haven’t indulged in the delectation of one in a while, but they are the ones I so fondly recount savoring as a child.

Well, a younger child, anyway.

I generally eschew unhealthful food (except on special days, when I indulge 🙂 ), but I was craving a chewy sugar cookie something fierce. The coercive cravings consumed my cognitive consciousness, clamoring for a cookie, menacing me by muddling any mental effort I put forth in math class, fouling my focus.

I was impelled to appease them.

I bought some Earth Balance. I baked the cookies. They were too crunchy for my yearning.

Undeterred, I found another recipe and baked a second batch. I wanted to cry. Still too hard!

Unassuaged, thwarted, foiled, frustrated, disappointed. I was set to throw in the kitchen towel and give up. My cravings had mostly dissipated, anyway.

But then a recipe caught my eye.

I was inspired to try one more time.

 

Cream Cheese Sugar Cookies

Adapted from Food.com

1/2 cup sugar or Stevia

1/3 cup Earth Balance, softened (I’ve heard Olivio is also a healthy brand. When buying margarine, peruse the ingredient list very carefully. If you see hydrogenated anything, drop it and flee.)

1 ounce (2 tablespoons) nonfat cream cheese, softened

1/8 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/4 cup cake flour

1/2 cup white whole wheat flour

 

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

In a large bowl, combine the sweetener, Earth Balance, cream cheese, salt, and vanilla extract. Beat until smooth.

Stir in flour until well blended.

With your hands, roll the dough into balls slightly under 1″ in diameter.

Place 1″ apart on ungreased cookie sheets.

Bake for 7 – 10 minutes. (I did 275 for about 7 minutes, then 300 for 5 minutes, then 350 for final 3 minutes)

Yum! 🙂

Leave a Reply

