Angel Food Cupcakes

“Sin had left a crimson stain;

He washed it white as snow.”

 

One cold night in November of 1989, thousands of people poured into the streets to celebrate. The day was not an official holiday. The party was not planned. But people danced and cheered and hugged…

and chipped away at a wall of concrete.

The Berlin Wall.

That was almost nine years before I was born. But history strikes such a chord in me that I may as well have been there.

I watched this video of the news coverage the day after the barrier between East and West was opened. I watched it on a whim, but I am so glad I did. I felt as though I were watching on TV it the very day it happened, I felt as though I were there among the Berliners.

Ich bin ein Berliner. I was them. They were me. I could just as easily have been born in East Berlin during the Cold War as in Pennsylvania in the closing years of the 20th century. The history of mankind connects us all. I love history…

But watching the video and the jubilation of the people of Berlin made me think of another event, in the more distant past, but which affects us more than any other event in our history.

When the Iron Curtain began to crack as the Cold War waned, people celebrated the triumph of freedom. As a sinless man hung on a cross to liberate a world fettered by sin, “the curtain of the temple was torn in two from top to bottom”–the barrier that separated us from God existed no longer.

That is also a cause for jubilation.

This weekend is Easter weekend, so why not celebrate with some angel food cupcakes? Airy, ethereal, almost like partaking of fragments of the cloudy sky.

It’s angel food cake in cupcake form. I am unable to construe how prodigiously phenomenal that is.

No necessity of a specialized tube pan. No need to grow flustered over ensuring the cake cools up-side down. No hassle…

Ingenious.

And oh, the sensations: how might I ever expound them? Can a mere moral, this lonely, foolish writer, describe the exquisite and unearthly taste and feel of the ethereal clouds? Yes, clouds! eating one of these cupcakes is like inhaling a cloud as one’s fare.

Nothing like the parched Styrofoam angel cakes sold in the grocery store bakery.

 

Angel Food Cupcakes

Recipe from Two Peas and their Pod

Ingredients:

3/4 cup sugar or sweetener of choice (such as Stevia or Truvia)
1/2 cup sifted cake flour (I used part white whole wheat for health, but use cake for optimal results)
5 large egg whites, room temperature
1/2 tsp cream of tartar
1/8 tsp salt
1 tsp vanilla extract
zest of one lemon

Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. (Finally, a 350 degree recipe!) Line a regular 12-cup muffin tin with paper liners.

Mix flour and sugar in a bowl.

In another bowl, beat egg whites with an electric mixer until foamy, then add in vanilla, zest, cream of tartar, and salt. Beat to soft peaks.

Gently fold whites into flour mixture.

Divide evenly into prepared muffin tins. 

Bake 16-18 minutes, until tops are golden and spring back lightly. Watch them carefully! Mine took less time.

Cool, then serve these sublime bites of celestial delight.

Leave a Reply

