Hummingbird cake

I believe that my God can turn a mess into a message.

Like this hummingbird cake.

I was in high spirits. The homework was done early and I had plenty of time to bake. Perhaps my spirits were a bit too elated, because I made some…blunders.

I had originally intended to halve the recipe and make one 9″ cake, not two. When I make a recipe for the first time, I like to make a smaller batch, just in case it doesn’t turn out well.

Except…as I flitted about my small kitchen, measuring and pouring, the realization struck me that I had used half the amount of flour called for…but the same amount of baking soda.

I know what too much baking soda can do. It can make one’s cake turn out flat!

EEP!

So I had to add flour and make the entire recipe. Three cups of flour, two 9″ round cakes.

I was pushed very far out of my comfort zone.

Still, something inside me told me to relax; all would be well. I mixed the batter and placed the cake into the oven.

About fifteen minutes into baking, I came to a dire and appalling consciousness.

I. Had. Forgotten. To. Add. Eggs.

This was not intended to be a vegan cake. It was supposed to have two eggs.

I nearly collapsed to the floor.

Still, the inner voice told me to keep calm. This was a culinary mess. God can turn a mess into a message.

The timer counted down. The oven radiated heat. The cakes baked on.

I pulled the cakes from the oven. They looked fine. But how would they taste?

 

Heavenly.

 

Hummingbird Cake

Recipe from Baking Bites

Ingredients:

1.5 cups white whole wheat flour

1.5 cups cake flour

2 cups sugar or Stevia in the raw or Truvia

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp ground cinnamon

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 cup vegetable oil or applesauce

1/2 cup buttermilk

2 tsp vanilla extract

2 large eggs (don’t forget them! *wink*)

2 cups banana, chopped (2 medium-large)

1 cup crushed pineapple, drained (or finely chopped fresh pineapple)

Cream cheese frosting, if desired (recipe follows)

 

Preheat oven to 350F. Spray two 9-inch round cake pans.

In a large bowl, mix together flour, sugar, baking soda, cinnamon and salt.

In a medium bowl, mix together vegetable oil, buttermilk, eggs and vanilla.

Stir chopped banana into flour mixture and toss to coat. Stir pineapple into wet ingredients. Pour wet into dry and mix.

Divide evenly between pans. Bake 30-35 minutes, or until done. Cool.

Eat as is, or layer with cream cheese frosting (recipe below).

 

Cream Cheese Frosting:

8 oz cream cheese block, any fat content

1/2 cup plain nonfat Greek yogurt, strained

1 tsp vanilla extract

1T powdered sugar

1 cup Stevia in the raw or sugar

Beat ingredients together until smooth. Chill.

Leave a Reply

