The Only Banana Walnut Bread You Will Ever Need

“‘There was once a small, strange man,’ she said. Her arms were loose but her hands were fists at her side. ‘But there was a wordshaker, too.'”

The Book Thief

I love words.

I love to learn them, take them apart, study them, fondle them.

I’m an abysmal speaker; I rattle on too rapidly to be comprehensible and trip over my clumsy tongue in a flamboyant display of nervousness. The words in my head crying for release protest indignantly at the manner in which they are unceremoniously, inelegantly, and clumsily dumped out through my tongue. I am neither mellifluous nor silver-tongued. The eloquence of my writing is merely satisfactory.

Yet I love words. I love them in their glorious beauty and ugliness. Their pulchritude and power. The best-placed words are simple yet profound, delicate as the petals of cherry blossoms yet impacting and deep as the hammer’s blow.

We have seen throughout the past that words and rhetoric have altered the course of history, for better or for worse. They have pushed wars and made peace, inspired hatred and promoted equality for all mankind.

Words have a history of their own. Languages have come from languages, words borrowed from words.

Words are beautiful.

This banana bread, which I am sharing with you today, is also beautiful.

My mother requested that I make banana bread with walnuts. My mother is always right.

I have some words to characterize this banana bread: enticing, delectable, ineffable, aperitive, saporous, palatable, sublime.

The banana and walnut flavors balance each other perfectly.

Banana Walnut Bread

Adapted from Food.com

Ingredients:

1 cup white whole wheat flour

1/2 cup cake or AP flour

1 tsp baking soda

1/8 tsp salt

1/8 tsp ground cinnamon

1 egg white

1 cup Stevia in the raw or sugar

2 tbsp applesauce or oil

1 1/2 tablespoons milk or buttermilk

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1 cup (about 2 large or 3 smaller) bananas, mashed

1/4 cup or 30g walnuts, toasted if desired

 

Preheat oven to 325 degrees Fahrenheit, and spray an 8×4 loaf pan (mine was glass).

Mix the flour, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon in a small bowl.

In a larger bowl, combine the egg white, sweetener, and oil. Add milk, vanilla, and bananas.

Add dry to wet and stir until combined. Stir in walnuts.

Pour into loaf pan and bake for 40-50 minutes or until the loaf springs back when lightly pressed.

 

“The difference between the right word and the almost-right word is the difference between lightning and a lightning bug.”

-Mark Twain

Leave a Reply

